106 N. Broadway, Belgrade, MT 59714
+14063884346
bcl@belgradelibrary.org
Temporary Hours: 10-2 Monday-Friday | Closed Saturdays & Sundays

One Book Belgrade

One Book Belgrade aims to foster community connections in Belgrade by bringing people together to read. It also acts as a kickoff for the yearly Adult Winter Reading Program at the Belgrade Community Library and will hopefully become something the community looks forward to year after year.

Current Year

Pick up a copy of the book from the library for a 2-week checkout. All copies must be returned by February 13. These copies will be available as giveaway items on February 20 at the author event (more details below).

Beneath a Scarlet Sky

Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man’s incredible courage and resilience during one of history’s darkest hours.

Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He’s a normal Italian teenager—obsessed with music, food, and girls—but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.

In an attempt to protect him, Pino’s parents force him to enlist as a German soldier—a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler’s left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich’s most mysterious and powerful commanders.

Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.

Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.

by Mark Sullivan

Mark Sullivan is the acclaimed author of eighteen novels, including the #1 New York Times bestselling Private series, which he writes with James Patterson. Mark has received numerous awards for his writing, including the WHSmith Fresh Talent Award, and his works have been named a New York Times Notable Book and a Los Angeles Times Best Book of the Year. He grew up in Medfield, Massachusetts, and graduated from Hamilton College with a BA in English before working as a volunteer in the Peace Corps in Niger, West Africa. Upon his return to the United States, he earned a graduate degree from the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University and began a career in investigative journalism. An avid skier and adventurer, he lives with his wife in Bozeman, Montana, where he remains grateful for the miracle of every moment.

Current Year – Tie-in Programs

January 16, 2020 – 1:00-2:30PM: Adult Art Class with Wendy Marquis Art: Create your own interpretation of the cover of the book Beneath a Scarlet Sky. All supplies provided. Registration closed.

January 16, 2020 – 6:00-7:30PM: Adult Art Class with Wendy Marquis Art: Create your own interpretation of the cover of the book Beneath a Scarlet Sky. All supplies provided. Registration closed.

January 22, 2020 – 6:00-7:30PM: Espionage Adventure Adult Escape Room with Escape Helena – Registration closed.

January 31, 2020 – 2:30-3:30PM: Kids Art Class with Bozeman Art Museum, Grades K-2 – Registration required.

January 31, 2020 – 4:00-5:00PM: Kids Art Class with Bozeman Art Museum, Grades 3-5 – Registration required.

February 6, 2020 – 6:00-7:30PM: Attend an event where you can hear from experts on the book topics including mountaineering (Professor Michael Reidy), espionage fiction (MSU instructor Kelly Lewis), driving (tbd), and WWII Italy History (tbd). Bring your questions for our experts! More information to come.

February 11, 2020 – 5:30-6:45PM: Espionage Adventure Teen Escape Room with Escape Helena. Open to teens ages 12-19 or grades 6-12!

February 20, 2020 – 6:00-7:30PM: Author Event! Mark Sullivan will be at the library to give a short presentation, do a Q&A with the audience, and sign books. Bring your questions for the author and your copies of his books to be signed. The library copies from this series will be available as giveaway items on a first-come, first-serve basis the night of the event. Doors open at 5:00, so get there early if you want a copy. One copy per family.

Sponsors

The library is now open, but with limited hours and services.More Info